Crown Paint Review and Competition: Spring Colour

This competition has now ended.

A little while ago I posted about the difficulties of updating bathroom interiors in a family home, so when Crown Paint asked me to review some of their paint, I jumped at the chance to add a new lease of life to our Bathroom by trying out their Kitchen and Bathroom Paint range. This is one of those posts where you get to nosey around someone else’s house! I love them, so I’m sure you do too.

Our tiny bathroom in our Victorian semi was revamped about 5 years ago and the paintwork is looking a little tired now, but the tiling and bathroom furniture is fine. Plus I’m a little fed up with the colour and ready for a change. I’m ok with using a bit of colour. Colour is making a comeback too after many years of painting our walls white, off white, almost white and nearly white! Interior designers and home magazines are telling us that we need to embrace colour and experiment with vibrant shades once again. That’s fine, I can do that. My main problem though, is what colour to choose. I do find it hard to make a decision when I’m spoilt for choice. Generally I like lots of different looks and so spend ages agonising over what would work best.

The Crown Paint website was a great help I have to say (and I’m not just saying that because I’m reviewing their paint!). I’ve used it before to help me visualise how the colour will look on the wall, and what colours work best together. Choose your colours or your scheme and see it on the walls of the room of your choice. You can even switch out the lights and see how the colour changes. Excellent! If you’re not feeling so brave about using a bit of colour on your walls this is definitely something you need to try out.

Anyway, I finally went for Cool Aqua and here it is after the first coat on the bathroom walls.

I’ve never used specific Bathroom paint before and I was genuinely impressed by the lack of spatter and the ease with which it covered the walls. Very little odour too, which can often drive the children mad. Fantastic. It’s a stronger colour that we had before but it works well with the blind and I’m really pleased with the finished result. Fresh, bright and clean. What do you think?

And so now to the exciting part, The Crown Paint Giveaway.

I have one 2.5 Litre tin of ANY Crown Paint to give away to the Winner. Why not revamp a room in your house or add a feature wall to your existing decor? Spring is well on the way and the brighter light and sunshine tends to show up tired paintwork. At this time of year we all like to freshen up our homes, and with this competition prize you could give one room a great new Spring look.

It’s really simple to enter. All you need to do is add a comment to this post and tell me which room in your home you would like to update and which colour you would use. If you need to, use the Crown Colour Schemes website to give you some inspiration!

For a Second entry you can follow Love Chic Living on Twitter or follow Love Chic Living on Facebook.

And for a Third entry you can Subscribe to the Blog by email from the Home Page. Let me know in the comments if you’ve entered more than once.

Good luck!

The competition closes April 5th at Noon. The winner will be chosen by random by Love Chic Living and the prize sent directly from Crown Paint. UK entries only please.

74 Comments

  1. Maxine
    March 22, 2012 / 9:39 am

    The attic room hasn’t been painted since I moved into this house 7 years ago!!! I love the warm cream paint from Crown as it is truly warming without being sickly. I’d love to pair this with some black accessories … feeling inspired now, thanks for the giveaway!

  2. Maxine
    March 22, 2012 / 9:41 am

    oh, and following you on twitter @maxineflossy and have subscribed via email to the blog

    Thanks again

  3. March 22, 2012 / 11:26 am

    Think your bathroom looks great. We are moving to our new home next month so would love to win a can of paint as we will be decorating the bedrooms as soon as we move in. Love your blog btw and will be following from now on 🙂

  4. Lucy Pasifull
    March 22, 2012 / 2:38 pm

    I think I have been inspired by your bathroom, ours is just white at the moment but desperate for a repaint. I think I may go for a pistacio colour for some zing.

  5. Lucy Pasifull
    March 22, 2012 / 2:39 pm

    I am now following you on twitter under @loobypas.

  6. ianmaciver
    March 22, 2012 / 2:41 pm

    the living room not sure what colour

    liked on facebook , followed on twitter

  7. Tracey Haynes-Wass
    March 22, 2012 / 3:36 pm

    It would have to be the kitchen, its in dire need of a lick of paint, i don’t think the people here previously decorated, i’d love to paint it in the Oxygen shade, its nice and light, perfect!
    following on twitter (@missberavin85) and subscribed to your (amazing!) blog 🙂 x

  8. Melissa Hall
    March 22, 2012 / 4:24 pm

    I would decorate my bedroom with Purity

  9. ashleigh
    March 22, 2012 / 8:07 pm

    i would use the lime green for my kitchen

  10. ashleigh
    March 22, 2012 / 8:09 pm

    i am following on twitter as @ashlallan

  11. March 22, 2012 / 8:26 pm

    i’m pregnant with baby number two so the next room we need to decorate is to turn the spare room into a nursery. we’re not going to find out what we’re having so i would probably choose something from crown’s cream and neutral scheme.

  12. March 22, 2012 / 8:29 pm

    have subscribed to your blog via email

  13. claire woods
    March 22, 2012 / 9:13 pm

    The bathroom and I would use Sky High (blue). The bathroom gets mouldy so n need re-decorating.

  14. claire woods
    March 22, 2012 / 9:16 pm

    For a Second entry you can follow Love Chic Living on Twitter or follow Love Chic Living on Facebook.

    done both @clairew137
    clairewoods32@yahoo.co.uk

  15. claire woods
    March 22, 2012 / 9:16 pm

    And for a Third entry you can Subscribe to the Blog by email from the Home Page – done

  16. Martina
    March 23, 2012 / 3:54 pm

    I would paint our kitchen, it desperately needs it. I would use some very light colour, cream or white as it would look bigger and brighter.

  17. kathleen hooper
    March 23, 2012 / 3:58 pm

    I love the cool Aqua , and I think it would look great in my bathroom

  18. kathleen hooper
    March 23, 2012 / 3:58 pm

    I am following on twitter
    @hoops120

  19. Hazel
    March 23, 2012 / 6:40 pm

    All the sunshine this week made me realize the lounge really needs to be painted. Not sure exact shade but from the cream/natural end of the shade card.

  20. Maya Russell
    March 23, 2012 / 9:14 pm

    All our rooms need re-painting but I’d start with the porch. I’d paint it a Soft Linen colour.

  21. Maya Russell
    March 23, 2012 / 9:15 pm

    I follow Love Chic Living on Twitter.
    @maisietoo

  22. Maya Russell
    March 23, 2012 / 9:16 pm

    I have subscribed to the Blog by email.

  23. Hayley Fountain
    March 24, 2012 / 4:05 pm

    I would use the plum seude colour scheme for my bedroom, as it looks so calming. x

  24. Hayley Fountain
    March 24, 2012 / 4:06 pm

    Following on twitter x

  25. Hayley Fountain
    March 24, 2012 / 4:07 pm

    Have subscibed to your blog x

  26. Arabella Bazley
    March 25, 2012 / 8:30 am

    I would love to try the Prairie Gold in my little “closet” room. It’s a small single bed size room into which I have prised a large Edwardian wardrobe, various shelves and a large glass desk, from which I now write. It doubles as dressing room and study, is a little snug and is at the back of the building which is always cool. The Prairie Gold would warm the atmosphere, highlight the golden hues of the wardrobe and, as yellow is supposed to be the colour of intelligence, hopefully provide some stimulation!

    I follow you on twitter @UtterlyBumpty, and FB Arabella Bazley, and have subscribed. Many thanks and kind regards.

  27. Patricia Smith
    March 25, 2012 / 9:37 am

    Would love to paint the conservatory…..just one wall. Thinking of something bright and sunny.

  28. Raj Sandhu
    March 27, 2012 / 11:02 am

    I’d love to paint my run down bathroom in the Adriatic colour
    I’m following on facebook and twitter @crazzzyRaj
    I’ve subscribed too

  29. Cherryl Thomas
    March 27, 2012 / 2:31 pm

    It has to be the kitchen (probably the most used room in our house!) and I would choose a soft white – so clean and fresh.

  30. claremoloney
    March 31, 2012 / 4:02 pm

    Brown Sugar – Love neutral look for my front room . I have two young children so this colour looks sticky finger proof when they put their grubby hands on it. Please eneter me I have also liked your facebook page and twitter page andsubscribed to the blog.

  31. April 1, 2012 / 2:13 pm

    I would use the paint for a feature wall in my bathroom that hasn’t been decorated in ages, not since we re-plastered last year :O I would chocse Sky High, it’s a lovely bathroomy colour

  32. April 1, 2012 / 2:14 pm

    following on twitter as @missmamo

  33. April 1, 2012 / 2:14 pm

    have also subscribed to your blog via email x

  34. Kirsty Fox
    April 3, 2012 / 1:06 pm

    I would paint my downstairs toilet and use Cream Silk

  35. Kirsty Fox
    April 3, 2012 / 1:09 pm

    I follow on Twitter – @bloomingfox

    and

    I like on Facebook – Kirsty Fox

  36. Kirsty Fox
    April 3, 2012 / 1:11 pm

    I am subscribed via email – robertfox24 [AT] aol [DOT] com

    • Jen
      Author
      April 3, 2012 / 2:48 pm

      Thanks for entering Kirsty, and good luck!

  37. Mark Whittaker
    April 3, 2012 / 4:50 pm

    My bedroom has not been decorated since I moved in…mainly because it can be shut away when visitors come round…that was 13 years ago. Would love to make it somewhere I actually wanted to stay in !

  38. April 3, 2012 / 5:35 pm

    Hi Jen, your bathroom looks transformed! I have a boys room which is crying out for a total make over, I already have the fabric & bedlinen (Orla Kiely Carpark in orange) so the ‘Herringbone’ from Crown would look great on the walls!
    Been following you for a while ;), enjoy the Easter break x

  39. valerie mccarthy
    April 3, 2012 / 10:02 pm

    Our kitchen can use a splash of colour. The walls are white… I feel like I am in an igloo.

  40. Beverley
    April 3, 2012 / 11:36 pm

    I adore the Plum colour scheme from the Crown range. My bedroom hasn’t been decorated since we moved in – it’s still all white with cream woodwork. Clean, but clinical. I love Gothic style, but he who should really be ignored would never let me get away with painting the bedroom black and red – it took me months to get him to agree to a black quilt set and curtains. I think the plum would look fantastic against the black fabric and all my black wrought iron candlesticks and curtain rail.

    Have followed on Twitter as bev_metallica, followed on FB and am about to sunscribe via email

  41. Sue Warr
    April 4, 2012 / 7:25 am

    The front room and hall both need doing as they haven’t been redecotaed since the kids were toddlers – they are now 19 and 20 respectively! I’d want a similar colour scheme – light green walls in the front room, and a pink/nude colour in the hall.

  42. emmawolski
    April 4, 2012 / 10:11 am

    I’d like a red carpet feature wall in my lounge! Not managed to paint for years so it could do with a good lick!

  43. Gabrielle Svensson
    April 4, 2012 / 10:39 am

    I’d love to redecorate my kitchen. It’s currently a dark orange colour! I really like the “Apple mist” green colour, I think that would look nice, and make the room feel bigger.

  44. lorraine polley
    April 4, 2012 / 11:29 am

    i would love to give my dining room a lick of paint, i hasn’t been done since we moved in 2 years ago, i like the Tibetan Gold, bright and bold

  45. Christina Michael
    April 4, 2012 / 12:14 pm

    My bathroom is definitely in need of paint and I would choose a nice light cream colour

  46. d mullooly
    April 4, 2012 / 2:49 pm

    soothing dark green in the living room

  47. jess cambridge
    April 4, 2012 / 2:50 pm

    Well im redecorating my bedroom and would love to paint it dulux esspresso shot 🙂

  48. jodie burnett
    April 4, 2012 / 5:01 pm

    I would like to paint our back bedroom, I’d really like to update it with a nice duck egg blue on the wall which the bed is against, and a champagne colour (like the colour ‘striking’) on the other walls. Its in real need of an update, and is one of the last rooms to be decorated since I moved in and turned my husbands ‘bachelor pad’ into somewhere with a more feminine touch!

  49. Katie Coldicott
    April 4, 2012 / 5:35 pm

    I would use the Mojito(green) for my bedroom.

  50. Dessiree Brown Llaneza
    April 4, 2012 / 7:04 pm

    Well, we are in rented accommodation but our landlady has just given us the go ahead to paint our bathroom!! I’m so excited!! It is a fairly cold bathroom so i really want to liven it up with a warm yellow. I tried looking on the paints scheme but i could’t get yellow and oranges up. Secondly would love to do our kitchen with a pale blue and a pink and blue blind to set it off. But that would be crazy, we’d get the house all lovely then it would be sold!! One day……but for now i’m happy to just do the bathroom!!

  51. Karen
    April 4, 2012 / 8:36 pm

    We’re getting a new bathroom next week so we’ll be painting the walls very soon. I think a watery blue would be perfect

  52. ali mckenzie
    April 4, 2012 / 8:48 pm

    our lounge is all magnoliaso i would love to have a purple feature wall and dark wood floor, the kitchen is painted yellow at the moment and i would like red walls, and the bedroom is moss green, euggghhhh, the last people who lived here painted it that colour but we have left bedroom till last, i would love a gold/cream theme.

  53. ali mckenzie
    April 4, 2012 / 8:50 pm

    following on twitter

    @pinkglitter_ali

  54. ali mckenzie
    April 4, 2012 / 8:51 pm

    subscribed to blog by email

  55. Natalie White
    April 4, 2012 / 9:17 pm

    I would love to repaint my bathroom! At the moment, it’s a horrid lurid pinky red – but I would love to paint it a cool blue!

  56. Angie
    April 4, 2012 / 9:34 pm

    I’d paint over the dirty blue colour of our living room with a bright ice white to really brighten it up

  57. Janine Atkin
    April 4, 2012 / 9:53 pm

    id update my bedroom. id like to go for black and white (not too much black!) its been lilac for years and im sick of the sight of it

  58. Lauren Main
    April 4, 2012 / 11:17 pm

    I should really paint my bedroom as it’s a really boring creamy colour. I would probably change it to a lilac-y colour, as I think it would complement my white furniture really well! Go for a bit of a vintage look!

  59. Lauren Main
    April 4, 2012 / 11:19 pm

    Following on facebook (Lauren Main) and Twitter (@laurenm997)

  60. Kristy Brown
    April 4, 2012 / 11:43 pm

    I would love to give my sons room a makeover as the army has just confirmed we will be staying in this house for another 2 years and he is fast becoming a teen and needs a teens room, not a boys room

  61. Sarah Louise J
    April 5, 2012 / 3:04 am

    I’d definitely have to paint my bedroom, for quite a while now I’ve been wanting to change it from yellow to a light brown/coffee colour.

  62. Sarah Louise J
    April 5, 2012 / 3:05 am

    I’m also following you on Facebook and Twitter
    @smileysarahs

  63. Sarah Louise J
    April 5, 2012 / 3:08 am

    I’ve also subscribed to your blog via email

  64. Susanne Temlett
    April 5, 2012 / 3:53 am

    I love the colour you’ve painted your bathroom, it looks really clean and fresh, and the blind looks great with it. I could spend hours on the crown website, it really is fantastic being able to see how the colours look together. I’d like to win a tin of cashmere paint to redecorate and bring a touch of class to my bright yellow bedroom which was last decorated in the 1990s and is well overdue an overhaul. I thought the yellow was a cheerful choice back then, but didn’t realise how bright a shade I’d chosen – it still catches me out, fooling me into thinking I’ve left the light on! If only the Crown website had been available then.

  65. Susanne Temlett
    April 5, 2012 / 3:55 am

    Following Love Chic Living on Twitter
    @susiet77

  66. Susanne Temlett
    April 5, 2012 / 3:58 am

    Subscribed to the Blog by email

  67. Sarah Burke
    April 5, 2012 / 10:01 am

    I really want to update my bathroom to a nice warm colour, like Prairie Gold.

  68. Mrs JENNY MILLER
    April 5, 2012 / 2:37 pm

    The bedroom is definately getting an update this summer. Not certain about colours yet though.

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: