Review: Valspar Paint at B&Q

You may have seen me post recently about how we are in the process of giving our daughter’s bedroom a Tween Makeover. In that last post, I shared my inspiration, ideas and some of the plans, looking at the Scandi theme that we are hoping to recreate. It needs to be a room that grows with her into her teens; that we can easily update when we need to and add to as her passions change.

So, one of the main issues was the colour palette. I had taken inspiration from some of some Honeycomb paper balls that I love, from The Hambledon (more on that in another post), and knew this contemporary colour combination would work for our daughter.

I was recently approached by Valspar, the new paint mixing system available in B&Q. At the time of writing, Valspar is being rolled out to the largest B&Q stores, and is already available in the smaller a mid size stores.

Valspar Paint Mixing:

My initial impressions were really good. The area is bright, inspirational and really inviting, with over 2000 colour cards or chips available from the display section. Whites are displayed within the correct colour area to allow you select a great colour combination. Lighting panels also show you how the colour will look in daylight, energy saving light and fluorescent light.

Valspar system

Colour chips

Colour mixing

Luminous coral

Valspar mint

What’s really exciting though is how Valspar can mix a colour for you from over 2.2 million. Yes that’s right. Their system can scan in a colour, from a book, a cushion, some wallpaper or fabric, and then the software will recreate that colour and tell you how accurate it is. And it’s really pretty accurate! There’s no other system in the UK with such a variety of colours at its disposal.

During the hour I spent at the Valspar counter, I noticed several customers discussing their paint requirements with the Valspar team. Customer service is at the heart of the Valspar experience. Every customer should understand their paint. They should take away the correct paint for their project, be really satisfied with their purchase and enjoy their product. It’s really important to Valspar that they sell the correct product and that customers return for the next project.

What We Thought:

This paint is lovely. It’s low odour, easy to use and covers really, really well. I’ve used a lot of paint varieties over the years, some better than others, but this really is one of the best I’ve tried. It just goes on the wall so easily and, to be honest, we could have used just one coat, but obviously went for two to follow recommendations.

Products we tried:

  • Premium Matt Emulsion in Coral and Freshwater Pearl
  • Premium Water Based Eggshell for Wood and Metal in White and Mint
  • Primer and Undercoat in One

Coral Valspar

Freshwater pearls

This is just a sneak peek into the makeover, but I wanted to show you how the colour is looking on the walls. We’ve gone for one feature wall in Luminous Coral, then 3 walls in Freshwater Pearl, a pink based off white. I’ve used the Mint for Wood and Metal on a few pieces of furniture and accessories, including a mirror, and the woodwork is a lovely fresh white.  It’s hard to represent the colours through images, but hopefully you get a good sense of the palette.

A 5 litre tin of Premium Matt Emulsion mixed to your exact requirements is £42 and well worth every penny. Do hop along to your nearest B&Q and check out the Valspar counter. Have a chat and discuss your requirements with the knowledgable team, and enjoy your product. If you try it out, I’d love to know how you get on.

I was gifted the Valspar paint in exchange for the makeover and review, but all comments, opinions and thoughts are my own.

Sharing is caring!

16 Comments

  1. A Residence
    September 24, 2014 / 7:50 pm

    Those colours are gorgeous! I might ask you for some ideas for my kids rooms soon, if that’s ok, I love these choices, so unusual but perfect for kids 🙂

    • September 29, 2014 / 1:02 pm

      Ooh yes that would be great Penny. Can’t wait to show you the end result. The mint is lovely!

  2. September 25, 2014 / 7:32 am

    Love the colours you have chosen. I really like the Valspar system and I believe it’s far more accurate than other similar ones. I’m going to be testing it out too, only problem is what colours to go for!

    • September 29, 2014 / 1:03 pm

      Oh it’s definitely accurate, we love it, hope you do too.

  3. Musek82
    October 25, 2014 / 6:54 pm

    The UK’s number 1 site for home improvement quotes, grants loans and useful information on Loft Conversion, Garage conversion & Basement Conversion, and Painting and Decorating.loft conversion

  4. Pingback: Creating a Family Friendly Kitchen
  5. Ben
    March 2, 2015 / 1:36 pm

    Hello!!

    Firstly, great review, thanks! I too was seduced by the bright display stand in B&Q and impressive range of colours, but upon reading some online reviews am left feeling very uneasy about trusting the paint. It would appear that there are a huge number of less-than-forgiving review on various sites damning the product as completely unusable.

    I know this paint was gifted by the company in return for a (favourable?) review, so I suppose it will be hard to tell for sure, but there seems to be only a very small number of happy customers punctuating the dismayed. Do you have any tips or guidelines for applying this paint for a professional (or even simply acceptable) finish? Would you recommend certain primers or tools, or tips for avoiding certain preparation/application products?

    Any tips would be greatly received as I’m keen to take advantage of the range of colours but only have a few days to complete the work amongst other projects in the room so I cannot afford time or money spending days rectifying issues or buying new paint to cover the poor Valspar.

    Thank you for your time!! And keep up the great work 🙂

    • March 3, 2015 / 2:13 pm

      I’ve seen the negative reviews too since posting mine and was genuinely surprised.
      Yes, the paint I used was gifted, but if I’d experienced a problem I would have said – I always give honest reviews, there’s never a deal to post a favourable review, just an honest one. All I can say is we really love the paint, and many months on it still looks great. Our decorator (who was very skeptical) also liked it a lot and said it was as good as his usual trade paint. Hope that helps.

  6. mike dixon
    May 18, 2015 / 7:44 pm

    just used vaspar masonry paint vey good coveridge and quike drying and no drips.definitly use agin.and i have recommed it to all my friends

  7. Paul McCormack
    August 26, 2015 / 3:47 pm

    Bought Valspar paint for the first time as the colour wanted from the B&Q range (Summer) was not available. Very dissapointed as we paid a third more for an inferior product. Once we had applied the paint and it had been on the walls for 3 days I rested some step ladders very gently against the wall only to discover the paint to be scuffed. This was on a freshly plastered wall that had been treated prior to painting. We have also used the colours range from B&Q in the living room and the cover and finish is much better. Just wish i had not met the pushy Valspar salesman.

  8. pifpaf
    October 12, 2015 / 9:41 am

    I used Valspar Premium, it was horrible. The worst paint I’ve ever used. Even the cheap stuff at bought from Lidl last year was better.
    Uneven coverage, looked awful after 2 coats, on a perfectly rendered wall. I then went on a read loads of reviews online. I struggled to find any positive ones. A lot of people claim they had to put more than 4 coats. I decided to give up and go back to the trustworthy brand I always use for decent projects. Starts with a D.

    ‘I was gifted the Valspar paint in exchange for the makeover and review, but all comments, opinions and thoughts are my own.’

    I think that straight away disqualify you to write a honest review I’m afraid!

    • October 12, 2015 / 11:43 am

      Hi, thanks for your comment. I pride myself on writing an honest and genuine blog where reviews are exactly that. I write both the good and the bad about a product and experience, but of course I only try things that I think will fit me and my family home. I too have seen the negative comments online regarding Valspar paint, but I haven’t experienced this. When I used the product it was fine, absolutely great in fact and I’ve used it again since this review with no problems (this time I bought it with my own money!). I really don’t know why you’ve experienced this, I suggest maybe contacting Valspar and asking for their advice.

    • Jeff
      April 30, 2017 / 1:37 pm

      Try using exterior paint

  9. Lauren
    January 31, 2018 / 10:40 pm

    Hi! I wonder if you have the paint colour number? I love the off-white wall of the “freshwater pearls” but I can’t seem to find that colour under that name anywhere. I’d be deeply grateful. Love Valspar, btw, and love the mint and coral too!

    • February 1, 2018 / 11:41 am

      Hmmm, it was quite a few years ago now so maybe it’s not a shade they sell anymore? Worth asking at a Valspar B&Q counter I think.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: